Illinois · NAICS 456 · Annual, 2025
Health and Personal Care Retailers in Illinois
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 456 in Illinois, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Health and Personal Care Retailers (NAICS 456) employed about 47,300 people in Illinois across roughly 4,259 establishments, with average annual pay of $53,660.
Employment in Health and Personal Care Retailers in Illinois declined 6.1% from 2004 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Illinois are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 47,300Employment, 2025
- 4,259Establishments
- $53,660Avg. annual pay
- 0.8%Share of Illinois jobs
- 1.15Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 50,300; 2005 50,500; 2006 51,400; 2007 53,700; 2008 53,800; 2009 52,200; 2010 50,600; 2011 50,600; 2012 50,800; 2013 50,600; 2014 49,600; 2015 49,700; 2016 50,300; 2017 51,100; 2018 50,200; 2019 49,600; 2020 46,900; 2021 49,900; 2022 49,000; 2023 50,000; 2024 48,500; 2025 47,300.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 47,292 | 4,259 | $53,664 | 2.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 48,473 | 4,351 | $50,293 | 3.1% | pub. |
| 2023 | 50,036 | 4,403 | $49,804 | 2.1% | pub. |
| 2022 | 48,988 | 4,371 | $49,702 | 1.8% | pub. |
| 2021 | 49,912 | 4,476 | $49,137 | 6.3% | pub. |
| 2020 | 46,941 | 4,481 | $47,945 | 5.5% | pub. |
| 2019 | 49,649 | 4,499 | $43,832 | 1.1% | pub. |
| 2018 | 50,216 | 4,500 | $42,210 | 1.7% | pub. |
| 2017 | 51,060 | 4,496 | $40,789 | 1.5% | pub. |
| 2016 | 50,331 | 4,482 | $39,212 | 1.3% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Health and Personal Care Retailers in Illinois, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for health and personal care retailers in Illinois. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.