Illinois · NAICS 92 · Annual, 2025

Public Administration in Illinois

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 92 in Illinois, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Public Administration (NAICS 92) employed about 269,200 people in Illinois across roughly 3,773 establishments, with average annual pay of $87,300.

Employment in Public Administration in Illinois grew 5.6% from 2020 to 2025. QCEW withheld part of this figure for Illinois; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Illinois are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 269,200Employment, 2025
  • 3,773Establishments
  • $87,300Avg. annual pay
  • 4.4%Share of Illinois jobs
  • 0.88Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Public Administration in Illinois, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 274,600 to 269,200.0100K200K300K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 274,600; 2005 273,800; 2006 273,700; 2007 273,000; 2008 272,500; 2009 270,100; 2010 270,300; 2011 263,200; 2012 258,900; 2013 259,700; 2014 260,200; 2015 260,100; 2016 258,000; 2017 258,000; 2018 257,700; 2019 258,900; 2020 255,000; 2021 251,100; 2022 249,700; 2023 254,700; 2024 265,900; 2025 269,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025269,1773,773$87,297 1.2%est. · 0.99
2024265,9423,805$84,109 4.4%est. · 1.00
2023254,7473,777$79,105 2.0%pub.
2022249,6813,707$77,536 0.6%pub.
2021251,1273,662$72,378 1.5%pub.
2020254,9923,644$69,444 1.5%pub.
2019258,8563,631$67,778 0.4%pub.
2018257,7443,551$66,255 0.1%pub.
2017258,0313,552$64,767 0.0%pub.
2016257,9943,748$63,713 0.8%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 8 shown

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Public Administration in Illinois, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for public administration in Illinois. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.