Iowa · NAICS 621 · Annual, 2025

Ambulatory Health Care Services in Iowa

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 621 in Iowa, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Ambulatory Health Care Services (NAICS 621) employed about 62,300 people in Iowa across roughly 5,980 establishments, with average annual pay of $80,970.

Employment in Ambulatory Health Care Services in Iowa grew 7.9% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Iowa than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.68). Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 62,300. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Iowa are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 62,300Employment, 2025
  • 5,980Establishments
  • $80,970Avg. annual pay
  • 4.0%Share of Iowa jobs
  • 0.68Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Ambulatory Health Care Services in Iowa, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 44,400 to 62,300.020K40K60K80K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 44,400; 2005 45,700; 2006 46,500; 2007 47,600; 2008 49,100; 2009 50,300; 2010 51,400; 2011 51,900; 2012 53,200; 2013 54,600; 2014 56,200; 2015 57,500; 2016 58,000; 2017 58,600; 2018 58,900; 2019 59,700; 2020 57,800; 2021 59,200; 2022 59,700; 2023 60,800; 2024 62,100; 2025 62,300.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202562,3365,980$80,970 0.4%est. · 1.00
202462,0865,988$77,250 2.1%est. · 1.00
202360,8295,905$75,582 1.8%pub.
202259,7445,856$74,411 0.9%pub.
202159,1985,710$73,333 2.4%pub.
202057,7935,607$70,867 3.3%pub.
201959,7335,475$66,916 1.3%pub.
201858,9425,470$65,234 0.6%pub.
201758,5695,452$63,664 1.1%pub.
201657,9555,449$62,843 0.9%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Ambulatory Health Care Services in Iowa, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for ambulatory health care services in Iowa. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.