Louisiana · NAICS 44-45 · Annual, 2025

Retail Trade in Louisiana

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 44-45 in Louisiana, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Retail Trade (NAICS 44-45) employed about 213,200 people in Louisiana across roughly 18,989 establishments, with average annual pay of $36,820.

Employment in Retail Trade in Louisiana declined 5.3% from 2004 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 41.7% below the all-industries average in Louisiana. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Louisiana are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 213,200Employment, 2025
  • 18,989Establishments
  • $36,820Avg. annual pay
  • 11.1%Share of Louisiana jobs
  • 1.12Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Retail Trade in Louisiana, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 225,200 to 213,200.0100K200K300K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 225,200; 2005 220,600; 2006 221,000; 2007 226,300; 2008 226,300; 2009 221,400; 2010 218,500; 2011 221,500; 2012 223,200; 2013 224,900; 2014 227,900; 2015 233,800; 2016 235,700; 2017 232,400; 2018 228,000; 2019 223,900; 2020 214,100; 2021 220,100; 2022 221,900; 2023 219,000; 2024 215,600; 2025 213,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025213,23118,989$36,818 1.1%est. · 1.00
2024215,57818,940$35,659 1.6%est. · 1.00
2023219,02318,864$35,074 1.3%est. · 1.00
2022221,92218,483$34,711 0.8%pub.
2021220,07518,220$33,304 2.8%pub.
2020214,12917,998$30,981 4.4%est. · 1.00
2019223,92217,897$28,776 1.8%est. · 1.00
2018227,98917,692$28,090 1.9%est. · 1.00
2017232,40017,699$27,490 1.4%est. · 1.00
2016235,74317,489$26,953 0.9%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 9 shown

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Retail Trade in Louisiana, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for retail trade in Louisiana. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.