Maryland · NAICS 211 · Annual, 2025

Oil and Gas Extraction in Maryland

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 211 in Maryland, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Oil and Gas Extraction (NAICS 211) employed about 60 people in Maryland across roughly 18 establishments, with average annual pay of $105,670.

Employment in Oil and Gas Extraction in Maryland declined 35.9% from 2024 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Maryland than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.03). QCEW withheld part of this figure for Maryland; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.90. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Maryland are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 60Employment, 2025
  • 18Establishments
  • $105,670Avg. annual pay
  • 0.0%Share of Maryland jobs
  • 0.03Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.90. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Oil and Gas Extraction in Maryland, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from fewer than 10 to 60.05010015020042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 fewer than 10; 2005 10; 2006 fewer than 10; 2007 fewer than 10; 2008 10; 2009 fewer than 10; 2010 10; 2011 10; 2012 fewer than 10; 2013 fewer than 10; 2014 10; 2015 10; 2016 20; 2017 fewer than 10; 2018 fewer than 10; 2019 fewer than 10; 2020 10; 2021 40; 2022 90; 2023 140; 2024 90; 2025 60.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
20255618$105,666 35.9%est. · 0.90
20248817$80,004 35.9%pub.
202313618$84,144 53.4%pub.
20228915$80,185 99.0%est. · 0.87
2021454$60,464 237.6%est. · 0.77
2020134$85,284 171.9%est. · 0.79
201954$81,427 13.7%est. · 0.98
201843$72,921 196.0%est. · 0.96
201713$112,722 92.5%est. · 0.96
2016196$77,898 31.7%est. · 0.85

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Oil and Gas Extraction in Maryland, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for oil and gas extraction in Maryland. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.