Maryland · NAICS 623 · Annual, 2025
Nursing and Residential Care Facilities in Maryland
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 623 in Maryland, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Nursing and Residential Care Facilities (NAICS 623) employed about 77,800 people in Maryland across roughly 2,376 establishments, with average annual pay of $51,790.
Employment in Nursing and Residential Care Facilities in Maryland grew 7.5% from 2024 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 36.5% below the all-industries average in Maryland. QCEW withheld part of this figure for Maryland; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Maryland are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 77,800Employment, 2025
- 2,376Establishments
- $51,790Avg. annual pay
- 2.8%Share of Maryland jobs
- 1.23Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 61,300; 2005 62,100; 2006 65,200; 2007 66,400; 2008 67,800; 2009 70,000; 2010 70,900; 2011 72,000; 2012 70,900; 2013 71,800; 2014 72,700; 2015 72,900; 2016 73,000; 2017 72,300; 2018 73,100; 2019 73,100; 2020 67,800; 2021 63,700; 2022 62,800; 2023 67,100; 2024 72,400; 2025 77,800.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 77,816 | 2,376 | $51,790 | 7.5% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2024 | 72,402 | 2,205 | $50,108 | 7.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2023 | 67,125 | 2,102 | $48,648 | 6.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2022 | 62,843 | 1,969 | $46,681 | 1.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2021 | 63,730 | 1,768 | $42,917 | 6.0% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2020 | 67,827 | 1,734 | $41,380 | 7.3% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2019 | 73,137 | 1,723 | $37,019 | 0.1% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2018 | 73,068 | 1,670 | $35,704 | 1.1% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2017 | 72,304 | 1,640 | $34,883 | 0.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2016 | 72,996 | 1,613 | $33,889 | 0.2% | est. · 1.00 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Nursing and Residential Care Facilities in Maryland, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for nursing and residential care facilities in Maryland. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.