Massachusetts · NAICS 523 · Annual, 2025

Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Massachusetts

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 523 in Massachusetts, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities (NAICS 523) employed about 50,700 people in Massachusetts across roughly 4,413 establishments, with average annual pay of $367,530.

Employment in Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Massachusetts grew 14.2% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 2.0× as concentrated in Massachusetts as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.97). Average pay in the industry is 267.2% above the all-industries average in Massachusetts. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Massachusetts are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 50,700Employment, 2025
  • 4,413Establishments
  • $367,530Avg. annual pay
  • 1.4%Share of Massachusetts jobs
  • 1.97Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Massachusetts, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 45,500 to 50,700.020K40K60K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 45,500; 2005 46,500; 2006 48,000; 2007 50,900; 2008 49,500; 2009 44,700; 2010 44,500; 2011 44,200; 2012 42,700; 2013 43,700; 2014 44,200; 2015 44,100; 2016 44,600; 2017 44,600; 2018 44,700; 2019 44,900; 2020 44,400; 2021 44,700; 2022 47,600; 2023 50,700; 2024 50,300; 2025 50,700.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202550,6994,413$367,526 0.8%est. · 1.00
202450,3164,234$330,679 0.8%est. · 1.00
202350,7374,225$317,014 6.5%est. · 1.00
202247,6454,062$345,964 6.5%est. · 1.00
202144,7473,782$338,621 0.8%est. · 1.00
202044,3893,574$322,669 1.1%est. · 1.00
201944,8723,461$303,380 0.3%est. · 1.00
201844,7293,389$306,752 0.2%est. · 1.00
201744,6433,288$284,241 0.1%est. · 1.00
201644,5983,213$262,955 1.1%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Massachusetts, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for securities, commodity contracts, and other financial investments and related activities in Massachusetts. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.