Michigan · NAICS 622 · Annual, 2025
Hospitals in Michigan
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 622 in Michigan, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Hospitals (NAICS 622) employed about 257,100 people in Michigan across roughly 748 establishments, with average annual pay of $82,430.
Employment in Hospitals in Michigan grew 5.7% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.3× as concentrated in Michigan as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.28). Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 257,100. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Michigan are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 257,100Employment, 2025
- 748Establishments
- $82,430Avg. annual pay
- 5.8%Share of Michigan jobs
- 1.28Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 212,400; 2005 216,200; 2006 217,800; 2007 223,800; 2008 227,700; 2009 224,800; 2010 226,900; 2011 228,900; 2012 235,600; 2013 235,000; 2014 235,100; 2015 237,400; 2016 244,200; 2017 248,600; 2018 251,400; 2019 251,200; 2020 243,200; 2021 243,400; 2022 240,300; 2023 245,500; 2024 252,400; 2025 257,100.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 257,092 | 748 | $82,426 | 1.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 252,421 | 682 | $78,971 | 2.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2023 | 245,491 | 666 | $75,420 | 2.2% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2022 | 240,274 | 616 | $73,389 | 1.3% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2021 | 243,448 | 566 | $68,496 | 0.1% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2020 | 243,245 | 554 | $66,266 | 3.1% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2019 | 251,167 | 528 | $63,329 | 0.1% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2018 | 251,431 | 495 | $61,276 | 1.1% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2017 | 248,643 | 471 | $59,929 | 1.8% | est. · 0.99 |
| 2016 | 244,170 | 427 | $59,076 | 2.9% | est. · 0.99 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Hospitals in Michigan, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for hospitals in Michigan. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.