North Carolina · NAICS 51 · Annual, 2025

Information in North Carolina

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 51 in North Carolina, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Information (NAICS 51) employed about 87,700 people in North Carolina across roughly 10,625 establishments, with average annual pay of $139,080.

Employment in Information in North Carolina grew 17.8% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 94.4% above the all-industries average in North Carolina. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 87,700. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for North Carolina are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 87,700Employment, 2025
  • 10,625Establishments
  • $139,080Avg. annual pay
  • 1.8%Share of North Carolina jobs
  • 0.93Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Information in North Carolina, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 73,600 to 87,700.025K50K75K100K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 73,600; 2005 78,000; 2006 74,500; 2007 74,100; 2008 73,300; 2009 70,900; 2010 69,300; 2011 69,700; 2012 70,200; 2013 70,800; 2014 73,600; 2015 77,100; 2016 79,900; 2017 80,000; 2018 81,100; 2019 77,000; 2020 74,500; 2021 78,300; 2022 82,600; 2023 86,100; 2024 86,900; 2025 87,700.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202587,73010,625$139,084 1.0%est. · 1.00
202486,85210,470$129,439 0.9%pub.
202386,07510,219$118,231 4.2%pub.
202282,6268,962$109,606 5.5%pub.
202178,3167,343$105,400 5.1%pub.
202074,4816,396$95,337 3.3%est. · 1.00
201977,0365,765$86,218 5.0%pub.
201881,0725,334$83,170 1.4%pub.
201779,9505,138$79,767 0.1%pub.
201679,8934,915$77,618 3.7%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 6 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of informationLQSource
512Motion Picture and Sound Recording Industries5,0935.8%0.44pub.
513Publishing Industries35,44140.4%1.25pub.
516Broadcasting and Content Providers7,3358.4%0.68pub.
517Telecommunications24,24927.6%1.28pub.
518Computing Infrastructure Providers, Data Processing, Web Hosting, and Related Services12,55514.3%0.81pub.
519Web Search Portals, Libraries, Archives, and Other Information Services3,0573.5%0.31est. · 0.99

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Information in North Carolina, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for information in North Carolina. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.