Oregon · NAICS 238 · Annual, 2025
Specialty Trade Contractors in Oregon
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 238 in Oregon, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS 238) employed about 69,600 people in Oregon across roughly 9,256 establishments, with average annual pay of $83,800.
Employment in Specialty Trade Contractors in Oregon grew 5.2% from 2020 to 2025. Employment fell 36.2% from 2007 to 2010 and has since recovered 118.0% of that loss. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Oregon are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 69,600Employment, 2025
- 9,256Establishments
- $83,800Avg. annual pay
- 3.5%Share of Oregon jobs
- 1.05Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 51,800; 2005 56,900; 2006 63,300; 2007 65,400; 2008 58,900; 2009 45,800; 2010 41,700; 2011 42,300; 2012 44,100; 2013 46,400; 2014 50,500; 2015 51,900; 2016 56,700; 2017 60,800; 2018 65,200; 2019 67,300; 2020 66,200; 2021 68,400; 2022 71,100; 2023 73,000; 2024 72,300; 2025 69,600.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 69,643 | 9,256 | $83,796 | 3.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 72,348 | 9,460 | $81,286 | 0.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2023 | 73,045 | 9,411 | $77,198 | 2.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2022 | 71,085 | 8,577 | $74,949 | 4.0% | pub. |
| 2021 | 68,366 | 8,211 | $69,307 | 3.2% | pub. |
| 2020 | 66,219 | 8,028 | $65,815 | 1.7% | pub. |
| 2019 | 67,344 | 7,948 | $62,133 | 3.3% | pub. |
| 2018 | 65,218 | 7,786 | $59,300 | 7.3% | pub. |
| 2017 | 60,799 | 7,534 | $56,460 | 7.1% | pub. |
| 2016 | 56,748 | 7,212 | $53,988 | 9.4% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Specialty Trade Contractors in Oregon, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for specialty trade contractors in Oregon. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.