South Carolina · NAICS 51 · Annual, 2025

Information in South Carolina

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 51 in South Carolina, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Information (NAICS 51) employed about 29,600 people in South Carolina across roughly 5,795 establishments, with average annual pay of $108,060.

Employment in Information in South Carolina grew 10.3% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in South Carolina than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.67). Average pay in the industry is 69.5% above the all-industries average in South Carolina. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for South Carolina are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 29,600Employment, 2025
  • 5,795Establishments
  • $108,060Avg. annual pay
  • 1.3%Share of South Carolina jobs
  • 0.67Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Information in South Carolina, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 28,300 to 29,600.010K20K30K40K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 28,300; 2005 29,200; 2006 29,700; 2007 29,900; 2008 30,800; 2009 29,400; 2010 28,000; 2011 28,000; 2012 27,800; 2013 28,400; 2014 28,500; 2015 29,100; 2016 29,100; 2017 29,500; 2018 30,200; 2019 29,000; 2020 26,900; 2021 29,500; 2022 32,400; 2023 31,400; 2024 30,400; 2025 29,600.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202529,6425,795$108,065 2.5%est. · 1.00
202430,4185,897$98,228 3.0%pub.
202331,3645,411$89,630 3.3%pub.
202232,4204,898$84,978 9.9%pub.
202129,5073,930$81,585 9.8%pub.
202026,8863,299$70,613 7.4%pub.
201929,0242,965$63,688 3.8%pub.
201830,1542,628$60,019 2.3%pub.
201729,4742,510$59,439 1.4%pub.
201629,0702,343$56,337 0.0%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 6 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of informationLQSource
512Motion Picture and Sound Recording Industries1,7756.0%0.33pub.
513Publishing Industries7,72626.1%0.58pub.
516Broadcasting and Content Providers2,5468.6%0.50est. · 1.00
517Telecommunications9,48032.0%1.07pub.
518Computing Infrastructure Providers, Data Processing, Web Hosting, and Related Services4,19414.1%0.58pub.
519Web Search Portals, Libraries, Archives, and Other Information Services3,92213.2%0.85est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Information in South Carolina, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for information in South Carolina. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.