South Dakota · NAICS 312 · Annual, 2025
Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing in South Dakota
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 312 in South Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing (NAICS 312) employed about 290 people in South Dakota across roughly 30 establishments, with average annual pay of $21,380.
Employment in Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing in South Dakota declined 11.6% from 2024 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in South Dakota than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.30). QCEW withheld part of this figure for South Dakota; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.94. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for South Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 290Employment, 2025
- 30Establishments
- $21,380Avg. annual pay
- 0.1%Share of South Dakota jobs
- 0.30Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.94. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 200; 2005 210; 2006 210; 2007 240; 2008 240; 2009 240; 2010 260; 2011 270; 2012 280; 2013 290; 2014 180; 2015 190; 2016 210; 2017 230; 2018 210; 2019 220; 2020 210; 2021 290; 2022 320; 2023 330; 2024 330; 2025 290.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 292 | 30 | $21,382 | 11.6% | est. · 0.94 |
| 2024 | 331 | 32 | $24,693 | 0.6% | pub. |
| 2023 | 329 | 35 | $24,985 | 2.6% | pub. |
| 2022 | 320 | 36 | $24,951 | 11.1% | pub. |
| 2021 | 289 | 32 | $26,022 | 34.2% | pub. |
| 2020 | 215 | 28 | $27,270 | 3.7% | est. · 0.98 |
| 2019 | 223 | 27 | $24,175 | 5.3% | est. · 0.95 |
| 2018 | 212 | 21 | $22,675 | 6.6% | pub. |
| 2017 | 227 | 21 | $26,101 | 6.1% | pub. |
| 2016 | 214 | 20 | $26,439 | 15.2% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing in South Dakota, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for beverage and tobacco product manufacturing in South Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.