South Dakota · NAICS 62 · Annual, 2025

Health Care and Social Assistance in South Dakota

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 62 in South Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Health Care and Social Assistance (NAICS 62) employed about 78,800 people in South Dakota across roughly 3,159 establishments, with average annual pay of $71,220.

Employment in Health Care and Social Assistance in South Dakota grew 8.5% from 2020 to 2025. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 78,800. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for South Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 78,800Employment, 2025
  • 3,159Establishments
  • $71,220Avg. annual pay
  • 17.1%Share of South Dakota jobs
  • 1.06Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Health Care and Social Assistance in South Dakota, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 55,900 to 78,800.020K40K60K80K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 55,900; 2005 56,600; 2006 56,900; 2007 58,500; 2008 60,500; 2009 61,700; 2010 62,800; 2011 63,700; 2012 65,300; 2013 66,100; 2014 66,400; 2015 67,200; 2016 68,600; 2017 70,100; 2018 71,400; 2019 72,500; 2020 72,700; 2021 73,500; 2022 74,100; 2023 75,400; 2024 77,800; 2025 78,800.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202578,8373,159$71,215 1.4%est. · 1.00
202477,7653,033$67,930 3.2%pub.
202375,3662,903$65,446 1.7%pub.
202274,0742,825$63,490 0.8%pub.
202173,4972,742$60,579 1.1%pub.
202072,6952,668$58,661 0.3%pub.
201972,4522,669$54,055 1.4%pub.
201871,4452,614$51,974 1.9%pub.
201770,1272,501$51,046 2.2%pub.
201668,6452,481$49,432 2.2%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 4 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of health care and social assistanceLQSource
621Ambulatory Health Care Services21,20526.9%0.78est. · 0.99
622Hospitals33,60642.6%1.60est. · 0.98
623Nursing and Residential Care Facilities13,59517.2%1.28est. · 0.98
624Social Assistance10,43113.2%0.68est. · 0.98

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Health Care and Social Assistance in South Dakota, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for health care and social assistance in South Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.