United States · NAICS 521 · Annual, 2025
Monetary Authorities-Central Bank in the United States
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 521 in the United States, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Monetary Authorities-Central Bank (NAICS 521) employed about 20,500 people in the United States across roughly 569 establishments, with average annual pay of $159,510.
Employment in Monetary Authorities-Central Bank in the United States declined 4.8% from 2004 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 102.6% above the all-industries average in the United States. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for the United States are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 20,500Employment, 2025
- 569Establishments
- $159,510Avg. annual pay
- 0.0%Share of U.S. jobs
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 21,600; 2005 20,800; 2006 21,400; 2007 21,600; 2008 22,200; 2009 21,400; 2010 20,700; 2011 18,500; 2012 17,300; 2013 17,900; 2014 18,400; 2015 18,200; 2016 18,800; 2017 19,200; 2018 19,600; 2019 20,100; 2020 20,300; 2021 21,000; 2022 21,600; 2023 22,200; 2024 20,600; 2025 20,500.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 20,530 | 569 | $159,515 | 0.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 20,606 | 585 | $154,451 | 7.4% | pub. |
| 2023 | 22,244 | 981 | $147,823 | 3.1% | pub. |
| 2022 | 21,571 | 860 | $143,410 | 2.6% | pub. |
| 2021 | 21,016 | 675 | $139,377 | 3.5% | pub. |
| 2020 | 20,306 | 509 | $134,345 | 1.3% | pub. |
| 2019 | 20,056 | 476 | $128,478 | 2.1% | pub. |
| 2018 | 19,649 | 413 | $123,607 | 2.3% | pub. |
| 2017 | 19,213 | 349 | $120,290 | 2.3% | pub. |
| 2016 | 18,790 | 273 | $116,657 | 3.4% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Monetary Authorities-Central Bank in the United States, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for monetary authorities-central bank in the United States. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.