Utah · NAICS 51 · Annual, 2025
Information in Utah
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 51 in Utah, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Information (NAICS 51) employed about 42,900 people in Utah across roughly 5,109 establishments, with average annual pay of $128,580.
Employment in Information in Utah grew 11.4% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.3× as concentrated in Utah as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.28). Average pay in the industry is 85.5% above the all-industries average in Utah. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Utah are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 42,900Employment, 2025
- 5,109Establishments
- $128,580Avg. annual pay
- 2.5%Share of Utah jobs
- 1.28Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 30,100; 2005 32,000; 2006 32,500; 2007 32,500; 2008 30,800; 2009 29,600; 2010 29,300; 2011 29,500; 2012 31,300; 2013 32,500; 2014 33,400; 2015 34,500; 2016 37,000; 2017 38,500; 2018 38,200; 2019 39,700; 2020 38,500; 2021 41,100; 2022 45,300; 2023 43,000; 2024 41,700; 2025 42,900.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 42,924 | 5,109 | $128,585 | 2.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 41,693 | 5,111 | $118,573 | 3.1% | pub. |
| 2023 | 43,041 | 5,114 | $109,836 | 5.0% | pub. |
| 2022 | 45,284 | 4,992 | $105,816 | 10.2% | pub. |
| 2021 | 41,112 | 4,072 | $105,548 | 6.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2020 | 38,532 | 3,248 | $94,634 | 2.9% | pub. |
| 2019 | 39,693 | 2,847 | $82,680 | 4.0% | pub. |
| 2018 | 38,158 | 2,559 | $76,429 | 1.0% | pub. |
| 2017 | 38,538 | 2,418 | $69,469 | 4.2% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2016 | 36,981 | 2,291 | $68,493 | 7.1% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
By subsector, 2025
3-digit NAICS · 6 shown
| Code | Subsector | Employment | Share of information | LQ | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 512 | Motion Picture and Sound Recording Industries | 6,411 | 14.9% | 1.59 | pub. |
| 513 | Publishing Industries | 19,642 | 45.8% | 1.96 | pub. |
| 516 | Broadcasting and Content Providers | 2,233 | 5.2% | 0.59 | pub. |
| 517 | Telecommunications | 4,492 | 10.5% | 0.68 | pub. |
| 518 | Computing Infrastructure Providers, Data Processing, Web Hosting, and Related Services | 8,166 | 19.0% | 1.50 | pub. |
| 519 | Web Search Portals, Libraries, Archives, and Other Information Services | 1,981 | 4.6% | 0.57 | est. · 1.00 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Information in Utah, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for information in Utah. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.