Alabama · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in Alabama

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in Alabama, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 284,200 people in Alabama across roughly 7,260 establishments, with average annual pay of $77,220.

Employment in Manufacturing in Alabama grew 10.0% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.7× as concentrated in Alabama as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.65). Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Alabama are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 284,200Employment, 2025
  • 7,260Establishments
  • $77,220Avg. annual pay
  • 13.4%Share of Alabama jobs
  • 1.65Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in Alabama, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 291,800 to 284,200.0100K200K300K400K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 291,800; 2005 297,800; 2006 302,800; 2007 296,100; 2008 284,100; 2009 247,500; 2010 236,300; 2011 237,300; 2012 243,400; 2013 249,200; 2014 252,800; 2015 257,800; 2016 260,500; 2017 263,500; 2018 266,800; 2019 269,000; 2020 258,400; 2021 264,600; 2022 273,900; 2023 281,000; 2024 285,200; 2025 284,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025284,1727,260$77,221 0.4%est. · 1.00
2024285,2027,076$73,670 1.5%est. · 1.00
2023280,9986,841$70,366 2.6%est. · 1.00
2022273,9386,517$67,116 3.5%est. · 1.00
2021264,5626,052$62,594 2.4%est. · 1.00
2020258,3775,774$60,386 4.0%est. · 1.00
2019268,9935,678$58,530 0.8%est. · 1.00
2018266,8405,567$57,067 1.3%est. · 1.00
2017263,5075,448$55,197 1.2%est. · 1.00
2016260,4765,286$54,233 1.0%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing33,70111.9%1.39pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing3,0561.1%0.68pub.
313Textile Mills3,8321.4%3.46pub.
314Textile Product Mills2,2030.8%1.74pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing1,8430.7%1.72pub.
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing380.0%0.12pub.
321Wood Product Manufacturing18,4616.5%3.37pub.
322Paper Manufacturing11,3654.0%2.38pub.
323Printing and Related Support Activities3,0401.1%0.64pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing2,2190.8%1.49pub.
325Chemical Manufacturing11,3174.0%0.93pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing17,4926.2%1.83pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing9,2533.3%1.64pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing18,3116.4%3.71pub.
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing27,8659.8%1.43pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing10,9743.9%0.74pub.
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing7,4092.6%0.55pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing6,8692.4%1.17pub.
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing79,17227.9%3.27est. · 1.00
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing8,2992.9%1.83pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing7,4542.6%0.90pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in Alabama, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in Alabama. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.