United States · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in the United States

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in the United States, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 12,628,500 people in the United States across roughly 401,612 establishments, with average annual pay of $89,540.

Employment in Manufacturing in the United States declined 11.7% from 2004 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for the United States are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 12,628,500Employment, 2025
  • 401,612Establishments
  • $89,540Avg. annual pay
  • 8.1%Share of U.S. jobs

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in the United States, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 14,300,300 to 12,628,500.05M10M15M20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 14,300,300; 2005 14,232,900; 2006 14,153,100; 2007 13,875,200; 2008 13,425,600; 2009 11,854,100; 2010 11,532,200; 2011 11,748,300; 2012 11,951,000; 2013 12,040,200; 2014 12,202,100; 2015 12,339,600; 2016 12,346,000; 2017 12,456,200; 2018 12,698,600; 2019 12,828,300; 2020 12,136,400; 2021 12,355,000; 2022 12,810,000; 2023 12,918,500; 2024 12,785,000; 2025 12,628,500.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202512,628,519401,612$89,544 1.2%est. · 1.00
202412,784,975397,355$85,522 1.0%est. · 1.00
202312,918,457392,349$82,634 0.9%est. · 1.00
202212,810,034380,839$79,530 3.7%est. · 1.00
202112,355,018366,484$76,628 1.8%pub.
202012,136,380358,382$73,452 5.4%pub.
201912,828,342355,130$69,976 1.0%pub.
201812,698,616351,560$68,582 1.9%pub.
201712,456,203346,834$66,898 0.9%pub.
201612,345,962343,795$64,922 0.1%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingSource
311Food Manufacturing1,774,70214.1%pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing328,2202.6%est. · 1.00
313Textile Mills81,2830.6%pub.
314Textile Product Mills92,8150.7%pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing78,9160.6%pub.
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing23,6940.2%pub.
321Wood Product Manufacturing402,0123.2%pub.
322Paper Manufacturing351,1842.8%pub.
323Printing and Related Support Activities347,1112.8%est. · 1.00
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing109,3220.9%pub.
325Chemical Manufacturing892,4657.1%pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing700,2185.5%est. · 1.00
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing413,8853.3%est. · 1.00
331Primary Metal Manufacturing362,4872.9%est. · 1.00
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing1,429,55411.3%est. · 1.00
333Machinery Manufacturing1,087,3368.6%pub.
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing998,2937.9%est. · 1.00
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing432,5973.4%pub.
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing1,777,26914.1%est. · 1.00
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing333,7192.6%pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing611,4374.8%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in the United States, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in the United States. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.