Arizona · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Arizona

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Arizona, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 172,600 people in Arizona across roughly 13,305 establishments, with average annual pay of $111,280.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Arizona grew 45.6% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is 1.3× as concentrated in Arizona as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.31). Average pay in the industry is 52.7% above the all-industries average in Arizona. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Arizona are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 172,600Employment, 2025
  • 13,305Establishments
  • $111,280Avg. annual pay
  • 5.3%Share of Arizona jobs
  • 1.31Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Arizona, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 118,500 to 172,600.050K100K150K200K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 118,500; 2005 125,000; 2006 130,100; 2007 131,100; 2008 124,300; 2009 120,300; 2010 117,700; 2011 120,700; 2012 124,400; 2013 130,800; 2014 134,900; 2015 142,000; 2016 148,300; 2017 155,900; 2018 161,100; 2019 167,600; 2020 171,800; 2021 177,400; 2022 176,300; 2023 171,400; 2024 169,800; 2025 172,600.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025172,60613,305$111,284 1.7%est. · 1.00
2024169,79513,646$103,812 0.9%est. · 1.00
2023171,40313,309$98,148 2.8%est. · 1.00
2022176,28112,463$95,605 0.7%est. · 1.00
2021177,44911,487$94,035 3.3%pub.
2020171,77210,558$89,931 2.5%pub.
2019167,5809,795$80,737 4.0%est. · 1.00
2018161,0559,219$76,578 3.3%est. · 1.00
2017155,9068,286$73,504 5.1%est. · 1.00
2016148,2688,108$71,988 4.4%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank830.1%0.20pub.
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities85,27149.4%1.60est. · 1.00
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities23,36013.5%1.02est. · 1.00
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities63,34136.7%1.17pub.
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles5510.3%0.78est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Arizona, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Arizona. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.