District of Columbia · NAICS 622 · Annual, 2025

Hospitals in the District of Columbia

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 622 in the District of Columbia, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Hospitals (NAICS 622) employed about 29,900 people in the District of Columbia across roughly 126 establishments, with average annual pay of $102,200.

Employment in Hospitals in the District of Columbia grew 2.0% from 2004 to 2025. QCEW withheld part of this figure for the District of Columbia; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.97. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for the District of Columbia are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 29,900Employment, 2025
  • 126Establishments
  • $102,200Avg. annual pay
  • 4.0%Share of District of Columbia jobs
  • 0.89Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.97. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Hospitals in the District of Columbia, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 29,400 to 29,900.010K20K30K40K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 29,400; 2005 29,600; 2006 29,400; 2007 29,900; 2008 31,000; 2009 31,500; 2010 31,800; 2011 32,400; 2012 30,100; 2013 31,500; 2014 31,200; 2015 31,200; 2016 31,500; 2017 31,100; 2018 31,200; 2019 31,000; 2020 30,900; 2021 29,600; 2022 28,500; 2023 28,600; 2024 30,000; 2025 29,900.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202529,948126$102,200 0.1%est. · 0.97
202429,972126$101,209 5.0%est. · 0.96
202328,550108$98,777 0.3%est. · 0.96
202228,47599$95,431 3.8%est. · 0.96
202129,60992$88,683 4.1%est. · 0.96
202030,87291$90,305 0.4%est. · 0.96
201930,99377$87,476 0.6%est. · 0.96
201831,17369$84,714 0.2%est. · 0.96
201731,10466$84,194 1.1%est. · 0.96
201631,46451$80,462 0.8%est. · 0.96

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Hospitals in District of Columbia, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for hospitals in District of Columbia. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.