District of Columbia · NAICS 72 · Annual, 2025

Accommodation and Food Services in the District of Columbia

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 72 in the District of Columbia, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Accommodation and Food Services (NAICS 72) employed about 66,700 people in the District of Columbia across roughly 2,943 establishments, with average annual pay of $47,920.

Employment in Accommodation and Food Services in the District of Columbia grew 61.4% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 62.8% below the all-industries average in the District of Columbia. Employment fell 42.7% from 2019 to 2020 and has since recovered 82.5% of that loss. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for the District of Columbia are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 66,700Employment, 2025
  • 2,943Establishments
  • $47,920Avg. annual pay
  • 9.0%Share of District of Columbia jobs
  • 0.98Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Accommodation and Food Services in the District of Columbia, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 45,900 to 66,700.020K40K60K80K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 45,900; 2005 48,200; 2006 48,800; 2007 49,500; 2008 51,200; 2009 51,300; 2010 53,200; 2011 55,600; 2012 58,500; 2013 60,900; 2014 62,600; 2015 65,400; 2016 66,400; 2017 68,100; 2018 70,600; 2019 72,100; 2020 41,300; 2021 43,700; 2022 59,700; 2023 66,600; 2024 67,500; 2025 66,700.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202566,7312,943$47,925 1.2%est. · 1.00
202467,5312,910$46,864 1.4%pub.
202366,6332,830$44,239 11.5%pub.
202259,7422,716$42,019 36.7%pub.
202143,7062,665$38,936 5.7%pub.
202041,3382,687$34,496 42.7%pub.
201972,1132,666$35,819 2.1%pub.
201870,6242,606$34,278 3.6%pub.
201768,1422,488$33,295 2.7%pub.
201666,3772,416$32,523 1.6%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 2 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of accommodation and food servicesLQSource
721Accommodation14,01121.0%1.46est. · 1.00
722Food Services and Drinking Places52,72079.0%0.91pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Accommodation and Food Services in District of Columbia, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for accommodation and food services in District of Columbia. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.