Illinois · NAICS 522 · Annual, 2025
Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in Illinois
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 522 in Illinois, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Credit Intermediation and Related Activities (NAICS 522) employed about 113,900 people in Illinois across roughly 5,548 establishments, with average annual pay of $130,600.
Employment in Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in Illinois declined 6.1% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 63.2% above the all-industries average in Illinois. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Illinois are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 113,900Employment, 2025
- 5,548Establishments
- $130,600Avg. annual pay
- 1.9%Share of Illinois jobs
- 1.14Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 146,700; 2005 149,700; 2006 150,900; 2007 147,900; 2008 140,100; 2009 131,200; 2010 126,600; 2011 125,100; 2012 126,400; 2013 127,500; 2014 123,000; 2015 121,800; 2016 121,400; 2017 121,300; 2018 120,500; 2019 121,600; 2020 121,200; 2021 121,100; 2022 118,400; 2023 116,100; 2024 113,600; 2025 113,900.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 113,863 | 5,548 | $130,596 | 0.2% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 113,611 | 5,652 | $120,570 | 2.1% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2023 | 116,110 | 5,748 | $114,763 | 1.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2022 | 118,375 | 5,816 | $111,799 | 2.3% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2021 | 121,126 | 6,003 | $110,564 | 0.1% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2020 | 121,247 | 5,987 | $105,596 | 0.3% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2019 | 121,562 | 5,938 | $96,884 | 0.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2018 | 120,526 | 5,992 | $91,512 | 0.6% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2017 | 121,299 | 6,040 | $87,752 | 0.1% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2016 | 121,397 | 6,546 | $84,127 | 0.3% | est. · 1.00 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in Illinois, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for credit intermediation and related activities in Illinois. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.