Kentucky · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Kentucky

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Kentucky, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 72,800 people in Kentucky across roughly 8,884 establishments, with average annual pay of $97,880.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Kentucky grew 9.0% from 2004 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 56.4% above the all-industries average in Kentucky. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Kentucky are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 72,800Employment, 2025
  • 8,884Establishments
  • $97,880Avg. annual pay
  • 3.7%Share of Kentucky jobs
  • 0.90Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Kentucky, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 66,700 to 72,800.020K40K60K80K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 66,700; 2005 67,900; 2006 70,900; 2007 73,300; 2008 72,000; 2009 69,700; 2010 67,500; 2011 67,200; 2012 68,900; 2013 70,800; 2014 71,700; 2015 73,400; 2016 74,200; 2017 74,200; 2018 73,800; 2019 73,500; 2020 73,100; 2021 75,100; 2022 74,500; 2023 73,700; 2024 73,300; 2025 72,800.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202572,7578,884$97,876 0.7%est. · 1.00
202473,2658,797$92,346 0.5%est. · 1.00
202373,6648,509$88,906 1.2%est. · 1.00
202274,5408,036$86,047 0.8%est. · 1.00
202175,1317,584$85,073 2.7%est. · 1.00
202073,1297,167$82,487 0.5%est. · 1.00
201973,5106,879$76,940 0.5%est. · 1.00
201873,8486,824$74,664 0.5%est. · 1.00
201774,2276,757$71,490 0.0%est. · 1.00
201674,2146,859$68,397 1.1%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank310.0%0.12est. · 0.94
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities32,40544.5%0.99est. · 1.00
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities7,76910.7%0.55pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities32,33344.4%0.97est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles2190.3%0.50est. · 0.98

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Kentucky, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Kentucky. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.