Louisiana · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Louisiana

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Louisiana, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 57,000 people in Louisiana across roughly 9,206 establishments, with average annual pay of $89,890.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Louisiana grew 6.7% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Louisiana than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.73). Average pay in the industry is 42.5% above the all-industries average in Louisiana. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Louisiana are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 57,000Employment, 2025
  • 9,206Establishments
  • $89,890Avg. annual pay
  • 3.0%Share of Louisiana jobs
  • 0.73Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Louisiana, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 63,900 to 57,000.020K40K60K80K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 63,900; 2005 61,200; 2006 59,100; 2007 59,000; 2008 58,400; 2009 57,000; 2010 57,600; 2011 58,300; 2012 56,900; 2013 56,900; 2014 56,800; 2015 56,500; 2016 56,500; 2017 56,300; 2018 55,200; 2019 54,400; 2020 53,400; 2021 53,300; 2022 54,500; 2023 57,200; 2024 57,000; 2025 57,000.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202556,9999,206$89,890 0.0%est. · 1.00
202457,0209,049$86,112 0.3%est. · 1.00
202357,1949,032$83,233 4.9%est. · 1.00
202254,5498,805$81,185 2.4%est. · 1.00
202153,2798,686$80,655 0.2%pub.
202053,4048,478$78,565 1.8%pub.
201954,3608,303$70,644 1.5%pub.
201855,1888,315$69,841 2.0%pub.
201756,3118,328$66,263 0.3%est. · 1.00
201656,4728,263$64,403 0.0%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank1020.2%0.40est. · 0.61
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities25,46344.7%0.80est. · 1.00
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities4,0617.1%0.30est. · 1.00
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities26,96447.3%0.83est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles4090.7%0.97est. · 0.88

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Louisiana, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Louisiana. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.