Maine · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025
Finance and Insurance in Maine
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Maine, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 23,000 people in Maine across roughly 2,368 establishments, with average annual pay of $111,720.
Employment in Finance and Insurance in Maine declined 13.7% from 2004 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 69.8% above the all-industries average in Maine. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Maine are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 23,000Employment, 2025
- 2,368Establishments
- $111,720Avg. annual pay
- 3.5%Share of Maine jobs
- 0.87Location quotient
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 26,700; 2005 26,000; 2006 25,400; 2007 25,000; 2008 24,600; 2009 24,100; 2010 23,700; 2011 24,100; 2012 23,800; 2013 23,900; 2014 22,500; 2015 22,700; 2016 22,700; 2017 22,800; 2018 23,000; 2019 23,500; 2020 23,500; 2021 23,300; 2022 23,600; 2023 23,700; 2024 23,300; 2025 23,000.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 23,011 | 2,368 | $111,717 | 1.4% | pub. |
| 2024 | 23,330 | 2,442 | $106,183 | 1.4% | pub. |
| 2023 | 23,658 | 2,406 | $99,889 | 0.4% | pub. |
| 2022 | 23,570 | 2,309 | $95,910 | 1.0% | pub. |
| 2021 | 23,341 | 2,232 | $91,541 | 0.5% | pub. |
| 2020 | 23,471 | 2,115 | $83,718 | 0.3% | pub. |
| 2019 | 23,540 | 2,106 | $77,756 | 2.4% | pub. |
| 2018 | 22,994 | 2,101 | $75,789 | 0.7% | pub. |
| 2017 | 22,843 | 2,147 | $73,035 | 0.5% | pub. |
| 2016 | 22,730 | 2,149 | $68,837 | 0.3% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
By subsector, 2025
3-digit NAICS · 5 shown
| Code | Subsector | Employment | Share of finance and insurance | LQ | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 521 | Monetary Authorities-Central Bank | 6 | 0.0% | 0.07 | est. · 0.98 |
| 522 | Credit Intermediation and Related Activities | 10,666 | 46.4% | 0.99 | pub. |
| 523 | Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities | 1,788 | 7.8% | 0.39 | pub. |
| 524 | Insurance Carriers and Related Activities | 10,490 | 45.6% | 0.96 | pub. |
| 525 | Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles | 61 | 0.3% | 0.43 | est. · 0.98 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Finance and Insurance in Maine, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Maine. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.