South Carolina · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in South Carolina

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in South Carolina, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 85,800 people in South Carolina across roughly 11,522 establishments, with average annual pay of $100,420.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in South Carolina grew 19.3% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 57.5% above the all-industries average in South Carolina. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 85,800. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for South Carolina are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 85,800Employment, 2025
  • 11,522Establishments
  • $100,420Avg. annual pay
  • 3.7%Share of South Carolina jobs
  • 0.91Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in South Carolina, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 64,900 to 85,800.025K50K75K100K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 64,900; 2005 66,100; 2006 68,800; 2007 70,000; 2008 70,000; 2009 68,400; 2010 66,100; 2011 65,300; 2012 66,000; 2013 67,200; 2014 66,800; 2015 66,900; 2016 68,200; 2017 69,300; 2018 70,100; 2019 70,500; 2020 71,900; 2021 74,500; 2022 79,100; 2023 81,700; 2024 83,300; 2025 85,800.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202585,83611,522$100,423 3.1%est. · 1.00
202483,25511,382$94,814 1.8%est. · 1.00
202381,74510,710$90,332 3.3%est. · 1.00
202279,13610,080$87,210 6.3%est. · 1.00
202174,4519,119$83,617 3.5%est. · 1.00
202071,9318,514$79,418 2.1%est. · 1.00
201970,4737,918$71,808 0.5%est. · 1.00
201870,0947,423$68,920 1.2%est. · 1.00
201769,2687,338$66,606 1.5%est. · 1.00
201668,2277,182$64,263 1.9%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank190.0%0.06pub.
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities36,37142.4%0.95pub.
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities6,8468.0%0.42pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities42,00548.9%1.08est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles5950.7%1.17pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in South Carolina, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in South Carolina. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.