Washington · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Washington

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Washington, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 94,700 people in Washington across roughly 10,795 establishments, with average annual pay of $146,220.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Washington declined 6.4% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Washington than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.64). Average pay in the industry is 46.8% above the all-industries average in Washington. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Washington are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 94,700Employment, 2025
  • 10,795Establishments
  • $146,220Avg. annual pay
  • 2.6%Share of Washington jobs
  • 0.64Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Washington, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 101,200 to 94,700.050K100K150K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 101,200; 2005 102,800; 2006 103,700; 2007 102,000; 2008 99,500; 2009 93,000; 2010 88,400; 2011 87,400; 2012 87,900; 2013 90,300; 2014 91,200; 2015 92,100; 2016 93,200; 2017 93,900; 2018 94,700; 2019 95,000; 2020 95,300; 2021 97,000; 2022 97,900; 2023 96,600; 2024 94,800; 2025 94,700.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202594,74810,795$146,223 0.1%est. · 1.00
202494,82910,664$134,504 1.8%pub.
202396,57310,466$126,544 1.4%pub.
202297,95010,780$124,877 1.0%pub.
202196,96310,291$124,507 1.7%pub.
202095,33210,031$113,528 0.3%pub.
201995,0439,166$100,931 0.4%pub.
201894,7089,111$94,820 0.8%pub.
201793,9398,933$90,721 0.8%pub.
201693,1748,834$88,124 1.2%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank1410.1%0.30pub.
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities40,29842.5%0.68est. · 1.00
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities16,17417.1%0.63pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities37,75139.8%0.62est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles3840.4%0.49pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Washington, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Washington. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.