Wisconsin · NAICS 523 · Annual, 2025

Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Wisconsin

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 523 in Wisconsin, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities (NAICS 523) employed about 14,300 people in Wisconsin across roughly 2,665 establishments, with average annual pay of $198,650.

Employment in Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Wisconsin grew 19.2% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Wisconsin than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.69). Average pay in the industry is 200.2% above the all-industries average in Wisconsin. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Wisconsin are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 14,300Employment, 2025
  • 2,665Establishments
  • $198,650Avg. annual pay
  • 0.5%Share of Wisconsin jobs
  • 0.69Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Wisconsin, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 9,220 to 14,300.05K10K15K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 9,220; 2005 9,270; 2006 9,500; 2007 9,880; 2008 10,400; 2009 9,760; 2010 9,700; 2011 9,960; 2012 10,100; 2013 10,800; 2014 10,500; 2015 11,000; 2016 11,200; 2017 11,500; 2018 11,700; 2019 11,900; 2020 12,000; 2021 12,100; 2022 12,600; 2023 13,000; 2024 13,800; 2025 14,300.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202514,3462,665$198,653 4.2%est. · 1.00
202413,7712,464$182,279 5.6%est. · 1.00
202313,0462,133$176,031 3.9%est. · 1.00
202212,5572,072$179,644 3.4%est. · 1.00
202112,1432,036$172,077 0.9%est. · 1.00
202012,0362,081$161,016 1.4%est. · 1.00
201911,8721,563$148,639 1.6%est. · 1.00
201811,6891,509$152,709 1.4%est. · 1.00
201711,5291,401$143,325 2.9%est. · 1.00
201611,2081,348$141,201 1.5%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Wisconsin, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for securities, commodity contracts, and other financial investments and related activities in Wisconsin. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.