Alaska · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in Alaska

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in Alaska, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 12,600 people in Alaska across roughly 670 establishments, with average annual pay of $69,600.

Employment in Manufacturing in Alaska grew 5.1% from 2024 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Alaska than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.47). QCEW withheld part of this figure for Alaska; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Alaska are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 12,600Employment, 2025
  • 670Establishments
  • $69,600Avg. annual pay
  • 3.8%Share of Alaska jobs
  • 0.47Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in Alaska, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 12,300 to 12,600.05K10K15K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 12,300; 2005 12,500; 2006 13,200; 2007 13,100; 2008 13,000; 2009 12,800; 2010 12,700; 2011 13,700; 2012 13,900; 2013 14,300; 2014 14,400; 2015 14,000; 2016 13,600; 2017 13,200; 2018 12,600; 2019 13,100; 2020 11,800; 2021 12,200; 2022 12,100; 2023 12,800; 2024 12,000; 2025 12,600.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202512,579670$69,596 5.1%est. · 0.99
202411,967679$67,323 6.3%pub.
202312,777666$69,566 5.5%pub.
202212,113645$65,545 0.7%pub.
202112,198632$58,212 3.5%pub.
202011,782598$55,730 9.8%est. · 1.00
201913,065592$52,718 3.5%pub.
201812,628575$51,337 4.5%pub.
201713,217546$49,114 2.6%pub.
201613,576533$47,780 3.3%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing8,88270.6%2.34pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing7576.0%1.08pub.
313Textile Mills70.1%0.04est. · 0.51
314Textile Product Mills530.4%0.27pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing170.1%0.10pub.
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing150.1%0.30est. · 0.83
321Wood Product Manufacturing2371.9%0.28pub.
322Paper Manufacturing90.1%0.01est. · 0.71
323Printing and Related Support Activities2522.0%0.34pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing3162.5%1.35pub.
325Chemical Manufacturing550.4%0.03pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing540.4%0.04pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing2712.1%0.31pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing220.2%0.03pub.
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing5174.1%0.17pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing560.4%0.02est. · 0.57
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing1411.1%0.07pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing60.1%0.01est. · 0.82
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing6295.0%0.17est. · 0.97
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing1180.9%0.17est. · 0.69
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing1651.3%0.13pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in Alaska, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in Alaska. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.