Delaware · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in Delaware

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in Delaware, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 26,700 people in Delaware across roughly 833 establishments, with average annual pay of $79,430.

Employment in Manufacturing in Delaware declined 22.8% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Delaware than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.68). Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Delaware are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 26,700Employment, 2025
  • 833Establishments
  • $79,430Avg. annual pay
  • 5.5%Share of Delaware jobs
  • 0.68Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in Delaware, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 34,600 to 26,700.010K20K30K40K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 34,600; 2005 33,200; 2006 33,200; 2007 33,200; 2008 31,600; 2009 27,900; 2010 26,100; 2011 25,700; 2012 25,700; 2013 25,300; 2014 25,700; 2015 27,000; 2016 25,700; 2017 25,900; 2018 27,100; 2019 27,300; 2020 25,500; 2021 25,000; 2022 26,200; 2023 26,800; 2024 26,700; 2025 26,700.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202526,676833$79,433 0.0%pub.
202426,676823$76,814 0.5%pub.
202326,818808$74,278 2.3%est. · 1.00
202226,227773$73,557 5.1%pub.
202124,962704$70,398 2.2%pub.
202025,520678$68,050 6.5%est. · 1.00
201927,298663$66,194 0.8%pub.
201827,077661$64,153 4.4%pub.
201725,928688$62,418 0.8%pub.
201625,735745$59,914 4.9%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing11,15041.8%2.03pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing7302.7%0.72pub.
313Textile Mills5472.1%2.18est. · 0.18
314Textile Product Mills400.1%0.14est. · 0.97
315Apparel Manufacturing80.0%0.03est. · 0.79
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing290.1%0.39est. · 0.39
321Wood Product Manufacturing3241.2%0.26pub.
322Paper Manufacturing9033.4%0.83pub.
323Printing and Related Support Activities3011.1%0.28pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing7382.8%2.18pub.
325Chemical Manufacturing3,07811.5%1.12pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing1,0734.0%0.50pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing7162.7%0.56pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing3321.2%0.30est. · 0.19
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing1,2364.6%0.28pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing7042.6%0.21pub.
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing2,2998.6%0.75pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing1,0023.8%0.75pub.
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing4601.7%0.08est. · 0.96
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing4731.8%0.46pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing5352.0%0.28pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in Delaware, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in Delaware. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.