North Dakota · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in North Dakota

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in North Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 28,100 people in North Dakota across roughly 888 establishments, with average annual pay of $73,370.

Employment in Manufacturing in North Dakota grew 10.5% from 2020 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for North Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 28,100Employment, 2025
  • 888Establishments
  • $73,370Avg. annual pay
  • 6.5%Share of North Dakota jobs
  • 0.81Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in North Dakota, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 25,100 to 28,100.010K20K30K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 25,100; 2005 26,400; 2006 26,500; 2007 26,500; 2008 26,800; 2009 23,900; 2010 22,800; 2011 24,000; 2012 25,400; 2013 25,600; 2014 26,200; 2015 25,700; 2016 24,800; 2017 24,900; 2018 26,100; 2019 26,700; 2020 25,400; 2021 26,300; 2022 27,500; 2023 28,500; 2024 28,500; 2025 28,100.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202528,070888$73,375 1.4%pub.
202428,459902$71,083 0.1%est. · 1.00
202328,483891$69,895 3.4%pub.
202227,540881$65,769 4.5%pub.
202126,342827$62,919 3.7%est. · 1.00
202025,401803$57,775 4.7%est. · 1.00
201926,663812$55,207 2.1%est. · 1.00
201826,108811$53,952 4.9%est. · 1.00
201724,886814$52,636 0.4%est. · 1.00
201624,793820$51,134 3.5%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 20 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing5,73220.4%1.17pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing4691.7%0.52est. · 0.88
313Textile Mills1270.4%0.57est. · 0.74
314Textile Product Mills2681.0%1.05pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing250.1%0.11pub.
321Wood Product Manufacturing2,81210.0%2.53pub.
322Paper Manufacturing750.3%0.08est. · 0.65
323Printing and Related Support Activities7062.5%0.74pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing5622.0%1.86est. · 0.44
325Chemical Manufacturing1,2354.4%0.50pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing1,4965.3%0.77pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing1,4555.2%1.27pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing3331.2%0.33est. · 0.20
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing2,3678.4%0.60pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing5,65620.2%1.89pub.
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing1,2334.4%0.45pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing1020.4%0.09pub.
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing2,2588.0%0.46pub.
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing6762.4%0.73pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing4841.7%0.29pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in North Dakota, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in North Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.