North Dakota · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in North Dakota

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in North Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 16,700 people in North Dakota across roughly 2,220 establishments, with average annual pay of $93,560.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in North Dakota declined 6.1% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 38.4% above the all-industries average in North Dakota. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for North Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 16,700Employment, 2025
  • 2,220Establishments
  • $93,560Avg. annual pay
  • 3.9%Share of North Dakota jobs
  • 0.95Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in North Dakota, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 15,200 to 16,700.05K10K15K20K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 15,200; 2005 15,400; 2006 15,700; 2007 16,200; 2008 16,600; 2009 16,600; 2010 16,700; 2011 16,800; 2012 16,900; 2013 17,400; 2014 17,900; 2015 18,200; 2016 18,300; 2017 18,200; 2018 18,100; 2019 18,100; 2020 17,800; 2021 17,400; 2022 17,200; 2023 17,400; 2024 17,100; 2025 16,700.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202516,6892,220$93,561 2.2%pub.
202417,0582,185$88,274 1.9%pub.
202317,3962,179$83,443 1.0%pub.
202217,2182,109$80,673 1.3%pub.
202117,4462,019$78,071 1.8%est. · 1.00
202017,7751,955$73,764 1.8%est. · 1.00
201918,0931,918$69,200 0.1%est. · 0.99
201818,1101,937$66,330 0.4%est. · 0.99
201718,1861,918$63,048 0.7%est. · 0.99
201618,3061,925$60,810 0.4%est. · 0.99

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank280.2%0.50est. · 0.82
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities8,99353.9%1.27pub.
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities1,1667.0%0.38pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities6,47538.8%0.90pub.
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles280.2%0.30est. · 0.84

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in North Dakota, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in North Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.