Washington · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in Washington

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in Washington, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 283,000 people in Washington across roughly 8,212 establishments, with average annual pay of $102,920.

Employment in Manufacturing in Washington grew 5.0% from 2004 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Washington are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 283,000Employment, 2025
  • 8,212Establishments
  • $102,920Avg. annual pay
  • 7.8%Share of Washington jobs
  • 0.97Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in Washington, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 269,500 to 283,000.0100K200K300K400K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 269,500; 2005 277,900; 2006 291,800; 2007 299,400; 2008 297,700; 2009 273,500; 2010 265,900; 2011 277,000; 2012 288,800; 2013 295,300; 2014 297,700; 2015 301,500; 2016 300,600; 2017 294,900; 2018 299,000; 2019 305,600; 2020 283,900; 2021 271,300; 2022 280,100; 2023 285,400; 2024 285,800; 2025 283,000.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025283,0118,212$102,921 1.0%est. · 1.00
2024285,8398,066$97,000 0.1%pub.
2023285,4157,938$93,476 1.9%est. · 1.00
2022280,0648,272$88,616 3.2%est. · 1.00
2021271,3128,114$83,430 4.5%est. · 1.00
2020283,9407,907$82,221 7.1%est. · 1.00
2019305,5767,847$81,315 2.2%est. · 1.00
2018298,9537,820$79,456 1.4%est. · 1.00
2017294,8877,694$76,442 1.9%est. · 1.00
2016300,6507,631$74,709 0.3%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing39,70314.0%0.97est. · 1.00
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing10,3653.7%1.36est. · 1.00
313Textile Mills3890.1%0.21pub.
314Textile Product Mills1,5560.5%0.72pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing1,0470.4%0.57pub.
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing3350.1%0.61pub.
321Wood Product Manufacturing12,7814.5%1.37est. · 1.00
322Paper Manufacturing7,0242.5%0.86pub.
323Printing and Related Support Activities4,5331.6%0.56pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing3,0231.1%1.19pub.
325Chemical Manufacturing8,1552.9%0.39pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing6,6082.3%0.41pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing7,8932.8%0.82pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing4,7571.7%0.57pub.
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing17,6806.3%0.53pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing14,0985.0%0.56pub.
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing18,5006.5%0.80pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing5,0791.8%0.51pub.
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing104,05436.8%2.53pub.
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing5,2481.8%0.68pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing10,1843.6%0.72pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in Washington, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in Washington. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.