West Virginia · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025
Manufacturing in West Virginia
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in West Virginia, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 45,100 people in West Virginia across roughly 1,417 establishments, with average annual pay of $76,720.
Employment in Manufacturing in West Virginia declined 28.4% from 2004 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for West Virginia are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 45,100Employment, 2025
- 1,417Establishments
- $76,720Avg. annual pay
- 6.5%Share of West Virginia jobs
- 0.80Location quotient
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 63,000; 2005 62,200; 2006 61,000; 2007 59,100; 2008 56,500; 2009 50,700; 2010 49,100; 2011 49,400; 2012 49,000; 2013 48,300; 2014 47,800; 2015 47,700; 2016 46,800; 2017 46,600; 2018 47,000; 2019 47,000; 2020 44,400; 2021 45,300; 2022 45,600; 2023 46,100; 2024 46,000; 2025 45,100.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 45,102 | 1,417 | $76,723 | 2.0% | pub. |
| 2024 | 46,029 | 1,463 | $73,778 | 0.1% | pub. |
| 2023 | 46,090 | 1,472 | $70,177 | 1.0% | pub. |
| 2022 | 45,649 | 1,421 | $68,079 | 0.7% | pub. |
| 2021 | 45,337 | 1,378 | $65,161 | 2.0% | pub. |
| 2020 | 44,430 | 1,262 | $62,360 | 5.4% | pub. |
| 2019 | 46,980 | 1,252 | $61,074 | 0.1% | pub. |
| 2018 | 46,952 | 1,268 | $60,459 | 0.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2017 | 46,575 | 1,272 | $58,624 | 0.4% | pub. |
| 2016 | 46,785 | 1,275 | $56,444 | 1.8% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
By subsector, 2025
3-digit NAICS · 20 shown
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Manufacturing in West Virginia, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in West Virginia. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.